Driver Safety Courses

Request Procedure
If you are charged with a traffic offense, you may be eligible to take a driving safety course to defray the conviction. The request must be made on or before the appearance date on the citation. Please contact the court office so we may assist in determining eligibility. (If you are 16 years old or younger, you must appear on your assigned court date listed on your mailed court notice with a parent or guardian to make the request.)

If you were operating a motorcycle, you may be required to take a motorcycle operator’s training course. If you are charged with allowing a child to ride unsecured in a safety belt or a child passenger safety seat system, you must take a special driving safety course that has four hours of training on child passenger safety seat systems.
 

Requirements
At the time of the request, you must do the following:
  • Meet eligibility requirements
  • Pay a $10 administrative fee, if required
  • Pay court costs
  • Plead guilty or no contest 
  • Present a valid Texas driver’s license or permit - Active military and spouses or dependent children of active military may present a valid driver’s license from any state
  • Present proof of financial responsibility (insurance)

The case will be deferred for 90 days. During that time, you must:
  • Complete a driving safety course approved by the Texas Education Agency or a motorcycle operator’s course approved by the Department of Public Safety and present the completion certificate to the court
  • Present a certified copy of your driving record from the Department of Public Safety that shows that you have not had a driving safety course within the preceding 12 months from the date of the current offense
  • Swear to an affidavit that you were not taking a driving safety course at the time of the request for the current offense and that you have not taken one that is not shown on your driving record

Consequences
If you do not present the required documents and pay the court costs and fees in full prior to the end of the assigned 90 day period, the court will set the case on a docket for a Show Cause hearing with notice mailed to the address of record.  Your failure to be present for the Show Cause hearing will result in a conviction, a fine being assessed, and a capias pro fine warrant issued for your arrest.